Be Smart and Lose Weight with “Care”!

Hello everyone,

Today comes a little story that happened to me on my way to my appointment.

… Walking along the busy walkway, I noticed a little puppy that approached every person it met. Like everyone else, I first thought it was someoneLost Puppy by Sandy Bröcking / Think Smart and Lose Weight else’s dog but when observing the situation for another minute or two, I found that the puppy did not belong to anybody nearby. Sadly I also noticed that most people were not interested in that fact.

I spent 1 ½ hours walking the puppy up and down the area in search for the puppy’s owners but unfortunately nobody had seen the puppy before.

The most interesting part of this journey was that during that time I approached many people with cars and asking them to help me drive the puppy to a vet where the RSPCA could take care of it…. No one had time …

Everyone had time for a jog, a morning walk, go fishing  or walk their own dog … no one I asked had time to drive the puppy.

What does this mean? 

Could it be that we are all tied up in our every day routines? Routines that don’t give space to see other’s in needs? That we close our eyes Lost Staffordshire Puppy by Sandy Bröcking / Think Smart and Lose Weightto our surroundings because we are too busy? How often do we look around and consciously take in what we see? Doesn’t helping and caring for others and the world around us gives us much more joy than following our daily routines with “blinkers” on … often on the way to the shopping mall?

Well, I missed my appointment that day but I got a lot of joy from knowing that the puppy is now in good hands and will hopefully be soon united with a loving family.

What has this story got to do with weight loss?

A lot! Firstly, when we open our eyes and consciously see the world around us we don’t have time to think about food. Secondly, helping someoneStaffordshire Puppy by Sandy Bröcking / Think Smart and Lose Weight is another time where we usually don’t eat because we are focused on some one or something else which takes our thoughts away from our own “food” desires. Thirdly, helping others releases ‘happy hormones’ in our brain which makes us want less food but also makes us more likely to eat healthier food options.

Try it out. Open your eyes and start consciously being aware of your surroundings. It may make a difference not just for you but also for others around you.

Take care of your body – It’s worth it!

Sandy

About Sandy Bröcking

I’m a health professional, author and motivational speaker who is passionate to help people lose weight the healthy way. As I used to be heavily overweight myself a long time ago, I believe that successful weight loss comes from motivation and knowledge. My passion is to stop people being fooled by often expensive diet regimes. Believe me - losing weight for good is not as difficult as most people think.
This entry was posted in Fantastic Ideas, Lessons from Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

