Christmas and the Santa Belly

It’s only November and the annual Christmas “hassle and bustle” is already full on.
Shopping Centers are filled with Christmas trees and “Red-nosed Rudolfs”, and soft jingle music makes you remember that it’s time to spend another fortune on this year’s Christmas presents for your family and friends.

Taking a closer look at some hundreds of chocolate Santa’s starring at me from a shelf, it makes me think they actually look like the Easter bunnies I had seen in the same place a few months earlier – just with a different colored wrapping – and even the chocolate “Rudolf” looked suspiciously like a rabbit.

In another shop I find “Christmas Gift Lists” which makes me wonder how far from the actual meaning of “Christmas” we can go … the whole thing made me so confused that I hit a wall covered in red and golden Christmas tinsel.

Back at home my friend rings me and with frustration she makes me listen to the five page wish list for her three children and I almost recommend to her the mall I saw earlier.

Right, I got it, the hectic Christmas shopping time is on again and you can’t escape it. Big red bellied Santa’s are already getting their fan’s out to fight Australia’s almost forty degree heat while listening to “Winter Wonderland” and after being almost run over by a monstrous Santa sleigh in the nearby shopping centre, stumbling into a giant Christmas tree that is sitting in my usual walkway and finding a “Christmas turkey” in the new fridge that I just bought, I decided to give up fighting the unavoidable.

Every year we usually spend hours and hours and a lot more money to find the perfect
gift for a loved friend or family member. We sometimes even spend a little fortune to find a gift for people we are not very interested in at all, sometimes we even buy a gift for our worst enemy– I don’t know why but for some reasons we still do it.

I’m usually not annoyed like this but even my everyday shopping turns into a small war by trying to fight my way through huge mountains of chocolates, biscuits,  Christmas cakes, wrapping, Santa’s and ’ready to go’ gifts.

And quite often it makes me think: Don’t we have something better to do than the annual Christmas shopping race? Why do we spend so much money and time on endless Christmas present searches for our friends, family members and colleagues but forget ourselves.

Wherever I look I often see hugely overweight people pushing massively loaded food
shopping trolleys, sweating heavily while carrying bags of sugary ‘Christmas temptations’ to their car, stopping at fast food outlets on the way home and treating their heavy bodies to burgers, chips and ice-creams … maybe they are in training for the upcoming ‘Christmas feast’?

Across the road next to a bunch of Christmas trees I see heavily overweight school children in front of a fish and chip shop with greasy hot chips in their hands and downing meg sized milkshakes and I think: “Wholly Chip-mass … is a chocolate Santa really the best gift to give?”

Walking the “tinseled” streets makes me increasingly aware about the shocking truth we
all know deep inside. That we have sadly become a country of overweight and obese  people with diet related diseases and the related disabilities and early deaths  on the brink of an explosion but despite this we are already preparing our fridges and homes for the annual “fatty”, chocolates, ham and turkey loaded Christmas meals on our doorsteps … and I wonder …

Why don’t we give ourselves a great gift this Christmas and take more care of our
body?

Take care of your body – it is worth it!

Sandy

About Sandy Bröcking

I’m a health professional, author and motivational speaker who is passionate to help people lose weight the healthy way. As I used to be heavily overweight myself a long time ago, I believe that successful weight loss comes from motivation and knowledge. My passion is to stop people being fooled by often expensive diet regimes. Believe me - losing weight for good is not as difficult as most people think.
This entry was posted in Lessons from Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

