Why do we want to lose weight?

There are many reasons and we often get overwhelmed by health professionals, institutions and magazines.

Within all these health benefits of weight loss that we are bombarded with almost everyday, I found another very interesting reason that losing a kilo or maybe a few more is indeed a great help.

Did you know that according to research every extra kilo we are overweight puts an extra  4 kg of pressure on our joints.Man carrying weights by Sandy Bröcking

I had a big knee injury some years ago. I learned how pressures our joints are and how important mobility is. Often we don’t think about it every day but we certainly appreciate a good body function when we grow older or after an injury or trauma.

With every kilo overweight  adding an extra 4 kg pressure on my pressures joints and limbs, I think every kilo I lose on my way to health is worth the effort.

Sandy

About Sandy Bröcking

I’m a health professional, author and motivational speaker who is passionate to help people lose weight the healthy way. As I used to be heavily overweight myself a long time ago, I believe that successful weight loss comes from motivation and knowledge. My passion is to stop people being fooled by often expensive diet regimes. Believe me - losing weight for good is not as difficult as most people think.
This entry was posted in Lessons from Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do we want to lose weight?

  1. Mittal says:

    Hello Dear Friend, first of all thanks for sharing such a great as well as informative topic with us. i would like to share something, I am suffering from over weight problem. As soon as I have started diet and exercise. I reduce my weight 15 kg withing 3 months. but when i stop diet and exercise for a month my weight increase 6 kg within month. i am wondering why it is happening. would you like to help into it.

    • Hi Mittal,
      Thanks for your comment and I can understand your problem very well. With most diets you do lose weight as long as you stick to the diet but the moment you go back to your original lifestyle all those kilo’s jump back on. It’s not just with you – it happens to most of us. If you really want to lose weight and keep it of – do what I did. Increase your lifestyle! Don’t punish your body with senseless diets but treat it with good and healthy food instead. That way you not only end up with a much healthier body but you lose those kilos for good as well. Try it! It’s not about how much we eat – it’s about what we eat. Enjoy life – and don’t forget your exercise.
      Sandy

Leave a Reply

