My Biggest Regret

Thank you everyone for the wonderful support and comments on my interview on the National TV talk show this week.

Some questions of the interview strongly reminded me of my days when I was overweight and … it reminded me of one of the biggest mistakes I made in my life.Cockatoo by Sandy Bröcking

Years ago when I was overweight I was much too often ashamed to do things that were good for my body. I very often I found myself staying away from exercise, joining sport groups or just do what I wanted to do – just because I felt embarrassed about my body or felt I would look like a fool.

Well, this is what I learned:

1. It is really hard to be a bigger fool than everybody else. Remember – nobody is perfect and we all have our little things that we “fool” about.

2. Don’t ever be ashamed! It is always much more embarrassing and unhelpful for our body and for us, not to do what is good for us than going out and doing it. The moment you do your exercise, the moment you go swimming, the moment you join a sports group – don’t ever feel embarrassed – it means you are doing something good. The fool here is the person who can’t see this.

As Mark Twain said “ Twenty Years from now you will be more disappointed with the things that you didn’t do than by the ones that you did do …”

Sandy Bröcking & Spider

Remember: Our fears are just feelings and quite often inappropriate.

So let’s go, get some exercise and have fun

Sandy

About Sandy Bröcking

I’m a health professional, author and motivational speaker who is passionate to help people lose weight the healthy way. As I used to be heavily overweight myself a long time ago, I believe that successful weight loss comes from motivation and knowledge. My passion is to stop people being fooled by often expensive diet regimes. Believe me - losing weight for good is not as difficult as most people think.
This entry was posted in About Sandy, Events 2011, Excercise Tips, Lessons from Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Biggest Regret

  1. run4joy59 says:

    Very inspirational…thanks!! I was just saying I work harder at my exercise routine when no one is around to see me…silly, I know…I’m working at changing those thoughts and feelings…

  2. Thanks very much and congratulations you’re doing great. Stay on track …

Leave a Reply

