Why Should We Eat Complex Carbohydrates?

Sorry, I’m late but had a busy day. On day’s like today ‘flexibility’ seems to be our best feature to have … Did you ever wonder why our bodies prefer Complex Carbohydrates? Please keep reading and you may find out.

A fantastic weekend to everyone.

Sandy

The processed carbohydrates we usually consume are mainly simple sugars. These days it is common to have a huge daily intake of simple sugars in our white breads, pasta or cakes. In addition, most of other foods we consume also have added sugar.

What does this mean? After consumption, simple sugars are easily and quickly broken down and transported into our bloodstream. As a result our body suddenly faces a huge sugar spike — much more energy than it needs at the time.Sugar Mountain by Sandy Bröcking Therefore after consuming large amounts of simple sugar meals, our poor body has to deal with an instant small army of free sugar molecules. What does our body do?

Our bodies are well equipped to deal with free sugar. Our organs can produce a transporting device that transports the sugar into our cells. This device is called Insulin.

Here we go. Our body is fighting an army of free sugars to transport them into our cells. Therefore, shortly after our simple sugar meal, our body produces a huge amount of Insulin to get rid of all the sugar in the bloodstream. And because our smart body always prepares itself for the worst, it produces even more Insulin than needed. (As it just received such a sugar shock — who can blame it?)

In the fastest possible way our body transports all the free sugar molecules into our cells where they are stored in the form of our best friend, the big, fat, round “fat molecule”.  Our body is working really hard to do its job as quickly as possible because high levels of free sugars in our blood harm the body. Therefore our body does whatever it needs to produce lots of Insulin and lower the blood sugar levels … but oops what happened? Suddenly all the free sugars are transported into the cells. The work is done. Unfortunately though, because the sugar spike was so high and our poor body was put into such a panic state to get rid of the free sugars there is an excess amount of Insulin left — unused and floating around in our blood.

Guess what our body does? It now needs sugars to keep the floating Insulin busy and it tells you: “I’m hungry — there is not enough sugar available for all the Insulin I’ve produced!!!

Give me more sugar!!!”

As a result, after only a few hours we need food again because all the energy produced by what we ate earlier is stored away in our fat cells.

How dumb does that sound?

Complex Carbohydrates on the other hand, are very difficult to break down. They make our body work hard and even use energy in the process. At the same time the process of breaking them down takes a long time. As a result free sugar molecules enter the bloodstream slowly.

Our body can prepare itself for the work. It adapts to the amount of Insulin needed and the slow release of sugar can get used as energy straight away without being stored as fat. The special bonus is: Because it takes so long to break them down it keeps our body busy and therefore stops it from thinking about food and feeling hungry.

Don’t you think this is a much smarter way of feeding our bodies?

By the way, according to research the instant blood sugar spikes after consumption of simple sugars are most likely to lead to Diabetes later on in life.

Great sources of Complex Carbohydrates are:

  • Wholemeal Breads, wholemeal Pasta
  • Wholegrain Cereals (Natural Muesli)
  • Brown rice, potatoes, root vegetables
  • Corn, oatmeal, porridge oats
  • Buckwheat, spelt, barley, peas, beans, lentils
About Sandy Bröcking

I’m a health professional, author and motivational speaker who is passionate to help people lose weight the healthy way. As I used to be heavily overweight myself a long time ago, I believe that successful weight loss comes from motivation and knowledge. My passion is to stop people being fooled by often expensive diet regimes. Believe me - losing weight for good is not as difficult as most people think.
This entry was posted in All about food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Why Should We Eat Complex Carbohydrates?

  1. I got this web site from my buddy who informed me concerning this web
    page and now this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative articles or reviews
    at this place.

    • Thank you very much for reading and sharing my articles. Please keep doing this. We don’t need expensive diet regimes for weight loss. Most diets have only a 5% long-term success rate and many are not very healthy as you mentioned in your article as well. Please keep sharing my blog. All we need for successful weight loss is knowledge, motivation and smart thinking.
      Sandy

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much,
    However I am going through issues with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    • Hi Jacelyn,

      Thanks very much for the great comment.
      In regards to the RSS; I have not heard from anyone else having issues with my RSS but will look into it. You can subscribe to my blog very easy just buy adding your e-mail address and confirm it once you receive the subscription e-mail. I promise I won’t give your address away to any third party. I hate receiving “Spam” myself.
      Sandy

    • Thanks very much for the great comment.
      Don’t’ worry there are plenty of other fruits and vegies available which have fantastic benefits to our health. For example yellow coloured vegetables and fruits are well known to benefit our eyes, keeping them healthy and protect them from Macular Degeneration. Keep scrolling through my categories and subscribe for free. There are huge amounts of information that I learned and want to share.
      Sandy

  3. Mavis says:

    Can I just say what a comfort to discover someone who genuinely understands what they are
    talking about over the internet. You actually realize how
    to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people need to read this
    and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you’re not more popular since you surely possess the gift.

    • Hi Mavis,
      Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. It all comes from my passion wanting to help. You are very right that more people need to read it. Please help me spread the message.
      Sandy

  4. It is in point of fact a nice and helpful piece of information.
    I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Joann says:

    Great postings, Cheers!

  6. Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend
    to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited
    from this site.

  7. I have learn some just right stuff here. Definitely
    worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort
    you place to create any such wonderful informative website.

  8. Hi there, I read your new stuff daily. Your story-telling style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

  9. lxus.tk says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It
    is the little changes which will make the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  10. I was suggested this web site by way of my cousin. I’m now not certain
    whether this submit is written by way of him as nobody else recognise such special
    about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  11. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not
    sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

    • Thanks to your cousin. I don’t know if I know him and he did not have any input in this blog. I think its more likely that he is not the only one who understands you. I’m sure many people have similar difficulties as you have.
      Keep reading and sharing my blog. Perhaps you find some more good ideas.

Leave a Reply

